The AMC Expresses Condolences in Response to Tragic Bus Crash

June 22, 2023

Treaty One Territory, Manitoba

AMC Communications

Treaty One Territory, Manitoba – The Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs (AMC) is deeply saddened by the tragic bus crash that occurred near Carberry, Manitoba, resulting in the loss of 16 lives and leaving several others injured. Our hearts go out to the families and loved ones who have been affected by this devastating incident.

Today, the RCMP announced the names of the individuals who tragically lost their lives in the bus crash. The release of these names serves as a heartbreaking reminder of the human lives that were tragically cut short. The AMC joins the community in mourning and pays tribute to each individual, praying that their memory will forever be cherished:

Louis Bretecher, 81

Margaret Furkalo, 82

Vangie Gilchrist, 83

Ann Hill, 81

Helen Kufley, 88

Arlene Lindquist, 68

Dianne Medwid, 70

Nettie Nakonechny, 87

Shirley Novalkowski, 76

Frank Perzylo, 82

Rose Perzylo, 80

Jean Rosenkranz, 82

Donna Showdra, 79

Lillian Stobbe, 73

Patsy Zamrykut, 88

Claudia Zurba, 87

“This is an incredibly heartbreaking time for the families of all whose lives were lost and those who are still in recovery,” Grand Chief Cathy Merrick said. “Our thoughts and prayers are with them as they navigate through this unimaginable grief and pain.”

The AMC recognizes the tremendous efforts of emergency responders, healthcare professionals, and all those involved in the rescue and recovery operations. Their dedication and selflessness in the face of this tragedy are truly commendable.

For more information, please contact:
Communications Team
Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs

About the Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs
The AMC was formed in 1988 by the Chiefs in Manitoba to advocate on issues that commonly affect First Nations in Manitoba. AMC is an authorized representative of 62 of the 63 First Nations in Manitoba with a total of more than 151,000 First Nation citizens in the province, accounting for approximately 12 percent of the provincial population. AMC represents a diversity of Anishinaabe (Ojibway), Nehetho / Ininew (Cree), Anishininew (Ojibwe-Cree), Denesuline (Dene) and Dakota Oyate (Dakota) peoples.