Landfill Search Feasibility Study Committee Update

January 6, 2023

Treaty One Territory, Manitoba

AMC Communications

Treaty One Territory, Manitoba – The Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs (AMC) provides the following update as determined by the committee created to pursue searches of the Prairie Green Landfill and Brady Landfill.

The Landfill Search Feasibility Study Committee contains members from the AMC, Long Plain First Nation Leadership, the MMIWG2S+ Implementation Committee, designated family members of the MMIWG2S victims and their respective Elder supports, Winnipeg Police Service, a Forensic Anthropologist, a Forensic Consultant, the RCMP, the City of Winnipeg, and Provincial government representatives.

Due to the amount of work needed to complete a feasibility study required for certain funding objectives, we ask for the public’s patience as this important work moves forward. The committee is pursuing a full search of the Prairie Green Landfill and the Brady Landfill. Funding from the Canadian government requires a feasibility study for each site in order to grant funding required to support the search effort. The feasibility studies will ensure that the specialists can determine a plan and search with maximum efficiency.

This committee is devoted to a trauma-informed, family-focused approach, which means that members of the Harris and Myran families are involved in the process, as our goal remains to bring their relatives home and find healing through this search.


For more information, please contact:

Communications Team

Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs




About the Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs

The AMC was formed in 1988 by the Chiefs in Manitoba to advocate on issues that commonly affect First Nations in Manitoba. AMC is an authorized representative of 62 of the 63 First Nations in Manitoba with a total of more than 151,000 First Nation citizens in the province, accounting for approximately 12 percent of the provincial population. AMC represents a diversity of Anishinaabe (Ojibway), Nehetho / Ininew (Cree), Anishininew (Ojibwe-Cree), Denesuline (Dene) and Dakota Oyate (Dakota) people.