Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs Response to the Distressing Video of Recent Incident at the Marlborough Hotel

January 20, 2024

Treaty One Territory, Manitoba

AMC Communications

Treaty One Territory– Grand Chief Cathy Merrick and the Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs (AMC) express deep concern after viewing a troubling video depicting the restraint of a young woman at the Marlborough Hotel in Winnipeg. Grand Chief Merrick extends prayers for the well-being of the young woman and assures the public that the AMC is actively cooperating with the Winnipeg Police Service (WPS) to ensure a fair and respectful resolution. The AMC has received reassurance that a thorough investigation by the WPS is underway.

In response to this incident, the AMC is immediately terminating its business relationship with the Marlborough Hotel. This decision is a direct response to the deeply concerning video circulating across various social media platforms.

The welfare and safety of First Nations citizens are the paramount concerns of the Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs. The AMC remains steadfast in its commitment to fostering environments that uphold the dignity and safety of First Nations people in Winnipeg and across the province. The AMC has informed all 62 member First Nations in Manitoba about this incident and our decision. Together, we stand in solidarity with our women and Two-Spirit relatives.

Additionally, the AMC is aware of an upcoming rally this Sunday at the Marlborough Hotel and emphasizes the significance of a peaceful and calm rally to advocate for justice.

For more information, please contact:

Communications Team
Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs

About the Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs

The AMC was formed in 1988 by the Chiefs in Manitoba to advocate on issues that commonly affect First Nations in Manitoba. AMC is an authorized representative of 62 of the 63 First Nations in Manitoba, with a total of more than 171,000 First Nation citizens in the province, accounting for approximately 12 percent of the provincial population. AMC represents a diversity of Anishinaabe (Ojibway), Nehetho / Ininew (Cree), Anishininew (Ojibwe-Cree), Denesuline (Dene) and Dakota Oyate (Dakota) peoples.