Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs Congratulates Newly Announced Ministers into Cabinet

January 30, 2023

Treaty One Territory, Manitoba

AMC Communications

Treaty One Territory, Manitoba – The Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs (AMC) congratulates the newly appointed ministers in a cabinet shuffle announced by Premier Heather Stefanson today at the Manitoba Legislative Building.

Today, for the first time in Manitoba’s history as a province, the newly appointed ministers were sworn in by all women government representatives; Premier Heather Stefanson, Lieutenant Governor of Manitoba, Anita Neville, and Clerk of the Executive Council & Cabinet Secretary, Katheryn Gerrard.

“Congratulations to the newly appointed ministers who were sworn into office this morning,” said Grand Chief Cathy Merrick.

James Teitsma (MLA, Radisson) becomes minister of the reframed Department of Consumer Protection and Government Services;

Janice Morley-Lecomte (MLA, Seine River) joins the cabinet as minister of mental health and community wellness;

Kevin Klein (MLA, Kirkfield Park) will serve as minister of the Department of Environment and Climate Change and;

Obby Khan (MLA, Fort Whyte) becomes minister of sport, culture and heritage,

In closing, Grand Chief Merrick stated, “We look forward to a productive partnership that is beneficial to First Nations citizens. Given that some of these ministers are newly elected, we invite you to meet with First Nations leadership as soon as possible to gain insight into their respective priorities. We wish the new cabinet well in the important work they will continue to do for this Province and its citizens.”


For more information, please contact:

Communications Team
Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs


About the Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs

The AMC was formed in 1988 by the Chiefs in Manitoba to advocate on issues that commonly affect First Nations in Manitoba. AMC is an authorized representative of 62 of the 63 First Nations in Manitoba with a total of more than 151,000 First Nation citizens in the province, accounting for approximately 12 percent of the provincial population. AMC represents a diversity of Anishinaabe (Ojibway), Nehetho / Ininew (Cree), Anishininew (Ojibwe-Cree), Denesuline (Dene) and Dakota Oyate (Dakota) people.