AMC Congratulates Grand Chief Jerry Daniels on Re-Election, Reaffirms Commitment to First Nations Unity and Advocacy

June 25, 2024

Treaty One Territory, Manitoba

AMC Communications

Treaty One Territory, Manitoba — The Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs (AMC) extends a sincere congratulations to Grand Chief Jerry Daniels on his re-election as Grand Chief of the Southern Chiefs Organization (SCO). The election, which took place today at Naawi Oodena on Treaty One Territory, reaffirms the trust and confidence Grand Chief Daniels has earned among SCO’s member-Nations. Grand Chief Cathy Merrick and the Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs look forward to continuing their collaboration with Grand Chief Daniels to create a stronger, more unified voice for First Nations in Manitoba.

“On behalf of the sixty-two First Nation members of the Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs, I am pleased to congratulate Grand Chief Jerry Daniels on his re-election,” said AMC Grand Chief Cathy Merrick. “I am confident that his leadership will continue to serve the Southern Chiefs Organization and its member-Nations with dedication and integrity. We stand together in solidarity, ready to collaborate for improved outcomes for all First Nations across the region and for generations to come.”

The Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs remains committed to advocating for political strategies and mechanisms that enable coordinated action by First Nations and their organizations. Alongside the Southern Chiefs Organization, we will continue to champion the rights and interests of First Nations in Manitoba.

For more information, please contact:

Communications Team
Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs

About the Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs

The AMC was formed in 1988 by the Chiefs in Manitoba to advocate on issues that commonly affect First Nations in Manitoba. AMC is an authorized representative of 62 of the 63 First Nations in Manitoba with a total of more than 172,000 First Nations citizens in the province, accounting for approximately 12 percent of the provincial population. AMC represents a diversity of Anishinaabe (Ojibway), Nehetho / Ininew (Cree), Anisininew (Ojibwe-Cree), Denesuline (Dene) and Dakota Oyate (Dakota) peoples.