AMC Congratulates First Nations on Historic Forestry Agreement

June 28, 2024

Treaty One Territory, Manitoba

AMC Communications

Treaty One Territory, Manitoba — Today, the Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs (AMC) extends sincere congratulations to First Nations Leadership from Minegoziibe Anishinaabe (MA), Wuskwi Sipihk First Nation (WSFN), and Sapotaweyak Cree Nation (SCN) on the historic signing ceremony that took place today on Treaty One Territory. The signing ceremony of the memorandum of understanding (MOU) between the three First Nations and the Province of Manitoba marks a significant milestone in collaborative governance and stewardship. This agreement represents the first of its kind in Manitoba, highlighting a transformative step towards reconciliation and renewed relationships.

“This is an important day for First Nations in Manitoba,” said AMC Grand Chief Cathy Merrick, “it will strengthen their ability to protect the forests for current and future generations while also ensuring First Nations share in the benefits from forestry activities in their Treaty territories.”

This MOU sets a powerful precedent for future partnerships grounded in mutual respect, cooperation, and the recognition of First Nations Inherent rights and responsibilities as the original stewards of the land now called Canada.

Central to this agreement are commitments to legislative and policy reforms aimed at empowering First Nations to exercise their inherent rights and responsibilities concerning stewardship and forestry planning. Through dedicated resources and collaborative efforts, the signatories aim to create a framework that supports sustainable development while respecting First Nations knowledge and traditions.

“This is what reconciliation is,” continued Grand Chief Merrick, “It’s about relationships, responsibility, and finding a common ground that respects the inherent and Treaty Rights of First Nations people.”

The Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs wishes to recognize the time and commitment of Chief Derek Nepinak, Chief Nelson Genaille, Chief Elwood Zastre, their staff, and provincial government members who were all involved in this landmark agreement. The AMC looks forward to working alongside and supporting our member First Nations on this journey of partnership in many other important areas identified by First Nations Leadership.

For more information, please contact:

Communications Team
Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs

About the Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs

The AMC was formed in 1988 by the Chiefs in Manitoba to advocate on issues that commonly affect First Nations in Manitoba. AMC is an authorized representative of 62 of the 63 First Nations in Manitoba with a total of more than 172,000 First Nations citizens in the province, accounting for approximately 12 percent of the provincial population. AMC represents a diversity of Anishinaabe (Ojibway), Nehetho / Ininew (Cree), Anisininew (Ojibwe-Cree), Denesuline (Dene) and Dakota Oyate (Dakota) peoples.