AMC Announces Manitoba First Nations Youth Council

April 9, 2024

Treaty One Territory, Manitoba

AMC Communications

Treaty One Territory, Manitoba – The Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs (AMC) is proud to announce the newly elected representatives of the Manitoba First Nations Youth Council. Last month, First Nations youth attended the AMC Youth Gathering in Winnipeg, where they heard from fourteen candidates vying for a spot on the AMC Youth Council. After a voting period of three days, we are thrilled to announce the successful election of York Factory First Nation’s Hunter Beardy to represent youth interests in the North and Brokenhead Ojibway Nation’s Jazmyn-Rae Desjarlais to represent youth interests in the South.

“First Nations youth must be actively involved in decisions and policies that impact their lives,” said AMC Grand Chief Cathy Merrick. “There’s much we can learn from each other, and I’m very pleased to welcome Hunter, Jazmyn, and the Council members into this space. These youth are our shared future, and I believe their voices need to be heard.”

Joining Hunter and Jazmyn are the Manitoba First Nations Youth Council Members Julianna Albert and Tim Folster from Norway House Cree Nation, Keaton Thomas-Sinclair from Mosakahiken Cree Nation, Shelby Sinclair from Pinaymootang First Nation, Jaydon Green from Roseau River Anishinaabe First Nation, and Raquel Strong from Sandy Bay Ojibway First Nation.

“Our youth are one of the fastest-growing demographics in the province. They have unique gifts and perspectives to share, and I believe our Chiefs knew this when they passed a resolution in Dakota Tipi First Nation requesting that the AMC create a Youth Council. I’m proud that we’ve been able to reestablish this under my tenure as Grand Chief.”

The AMC congratulates Hunter, Jazmyn, Julianna, Tim, Keaton, Shelby, Jaydon, and Raquel. We thank all candidates for their courageous dedication to advocating for the rights of First Nations in Manitoba. With the Manitoba First Nations Youth Council’s additional perspectives, the AMC will continue to advocate for the rights and interests of its 62 member Nations.

For more information, please contact:

Communications Team
Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs

About the Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs

The AMC was formed in 1988 by the Chiefs in Manitoba to advocate on issues that commonly affect First Nations in Manitoba. AMC is an authorized representative of 62 of the 63 First Nations in Manitoba with a total of more than 172,000 First Nations citizens in the province, accounting for approximately 12 percent of the provincial population. AMC represents a diversity of Anishinaabe (Ojibway), Nehetho / Ininew (Cree), Anisininew (Ojibwe-Cree), Denesuline (Dene) and Dakota Oyate (Dakota) peoples.