Assembly of Manitoba Chiefs Women’s Council.

The AMC Women’s Council continues to work to advance the well-being of women, children, families and communities. This includes numerous issues such as: Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls (MMIWG); human trafficking; stopping the sexual exploitation of children, girls and women; child welfare; domestic violence; and gender equity.

In 2017, the AMC Women’s Council expanded to 10 members. We look forward to the continued support of Manitoba First Nations leaders on the contributions of First Nations women in resolving issues that affect all First Nations people to ensure healthy and strong individuals, families and nations. This support includes working with the AMC’s Grandmothers Council.

The AMC Women’s Council has 9 members, they are:

  • Chief Lorna Bighetty, Mathias Colomb First Nation
  • Chief Heidi Cook, Misipawistik Cree Nation
  • Chief Shirley Ducharme, O-Pipon-Na-Piwin Cree Nation
  • Chief Lola Thunderchild, Canupawakpa Dakota Nation
  • Chief Betsy Kennedy, War Lake First Nation
  • Chief Vera Mitchell, Poplar River First Nation
  • Chief Doreen Spence, Tataskweyak Cree Nation
  • Councillor Sophie Lockhart, Fox Lake Cree Nation
  • Pamela Balfour, Community Liaison, Women, Children & Families, AMC