AFN National Chief Election Information

November 16, 2023

Treaty One Territory, Manitoba

AMC Communications

The 2023 Election for the Office of the National Chief of the Assembly of First Nations (AFN) will be held on December 6, 2023.

The AFN Charter states that “The winner of the election shall be that person who first gains a majority of sixty (60) percent of the votes of the representatives of Members who are registered at the Assembly.”

The Office of the Chief Electoral Officer has received nominations in proper form from the following persons, listed alphabetically by last name:

  • Bellerose, Reginald – SK
  • Makinaw, Craig – AB
  • North, Sheila (Wikahsko Iskwew) – MB
  • Pratt, David – SK
  • Sayers, Dean – ON
  • Woodhouse, Cindy – MB

For additional information on the electoral process and election procedures, please contact or 1-833-236-8683.

View the supporting documents below: